Diabetes takes up too much space

Every year, when I walk in JDRF’s Walk to Cure Diabetes (I co-chair our local walk 😀 )  I raise enough money that they send me a catalog to choose a prize to thank me for my efforts.  Sometimes I don’t choose a prize, and let the money go back to JDRF .. but other times I do pick a prize.  🙂

This year, I chose a Vera Bradley trio set. It had a really cute tote bag, with a matching insulated lunch bag, and a super cute wristlet –

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My family and I were going to go to an event with our church at the local high school stadium the other night and I thought, “Ooh! I want to take my new wristlet so I don’t have to keep up with a purse. All I need is my phone – check, and my drivers license – check, and my debit card -check.  And my … oh wait.”  When I got all excited about using this cute little accessory, I somehow failed to consider this –

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oops.  I tried taking the meter and lancet out and stuffing them into the wristlet, but it was a no go. I do wear the CGM, but I’m not someone that can 100% rely on that number since I’d never bolus off of the number showing.  And we were going to be there for a couple of hours and although I scarfed down ate dinner beforehand, I did not know what to expect with my numbers, and ended up not being comfortable enough to go meter-free for the evening.

One thing that did fit in there, though, was a QuickStick. I was glad to know this, because my tube of glucose tabs certainly would not have fit.  Good to know.

I ended up not using the wristlet that night, but switched to a small purse I could wear draped across me instead of over my shoulder. I tell you this, tongue in cheek, because after all of this, I ended up leaving the house without either of those things – the QuickSticks or the glucose tabs (forgot to put them in the nurse purse.) At one point I started to get worried, and I texted my husband who was volunteering as an usher at the other end of the bleachers – told him I didn’t have any sugar on me and I was fine now but would like to have something “just in case”.  So he hooked me up and brought me a Coke. 🙂 I ended up not needing it, but better to have it and not need it, than not to have it at all.

So the not so short point here .. is that diabetes takes up too much room sometimes and can even factor into being able to use (or not use, in this case) cute little accessories. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Diabetes takes up too much space

  1. Scott E says:

    This is exactly why I continue to wear a spring jacket into the beginnings of summer. I need the pockets!

    (And with your pump woes of late, I thought this blog post – based on the title – was about finding space on your body that’s clear of scar tissue!)

  2. Jim says:

    It’s always a struggle for me to cart around my supplies. At least you girls have purses to put all your stuff in. Don’t say it! I’m not doing the European Man Bag thing! 😛

    • Shannon says:

      Ah come on, Jim — you know those bags are trendy! In all seriousness, I don’t envy being a man and having to carry all this mess around with you — I’m not sure how you do it. It’s hard enough for me to pick out WHICH purse to use .. and you guys don’t even have that option. :/

  3. lovehatediabetes says:

    Cute wrist-let, love it! As women with diabetes, I think the first thing we look for in a purse is a small size, but still big enough to fit all of your “stuff” with us.

Leave a Reply

