Love/Hate Relationship

My pump and I have a love/hate relationship some days.   For the most part, I love wearing it – or I should say I love the benefits of wearing it. I love being able to sleep in (as much as one can with a four year old) and not have an eating schedule to work around.  I love being able to correct high’s sooner versus having to wait for the next meal.  

One of my biggest hangups with it is I hate physically wearing it.  Having something attached to me 24/7.  But it’s either that, or going back to giving myself 5 shots a day.  So the positives outweigh the negatives at this point in my life.

I also have a lot of scar tissue in my abdomen that sometimes make it difficult to find a good site, that will absorb the insulin as well as it should.   For a long time, I switched to only using my hips but now even that area is covered in tiny knots and scar tissue, so I’m back to trying the tummy.

I like the idea of the alarms – they have saved me from highs/lows on many many occasions.  But I’m not a fan of the “I’m not able to sleep because my pump alarm keeps beeping at me for one reason or another” nights.  But again, positives outweigh the negative.

Some days I’m not always completely honest with my pump.   It will ask me questions such as:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I choose “Yes” Of course I am.  (*No I’m not)   This usually happens when I am running low on my reservoir, but I’m not ready to change my actual infusion site yet, so I refill the reservoir and keep going. (Disclaimer – this is not recommended to do this .. but I do it – probably more than I should. And I’m willing to bet I’m not the only one. I do it at my own risk.)   Shhhh. 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love/Hate Relationship

  1. Gerry says:

    Hi, Shannon. I rarely change infusion set and reservoir at the same time. When I change the infusion set (I use Quick-sets), I seal the tubing and connector in a sandwich bag until my next reservoir change. Then I use the tubing and connector with the new reservoir. At that point I prime, then attach. When I change infusion set, I only do fill cannula (I use a MiniMed 523).

Leave a Reply

