Lost my stick

I wear the Medtronic pump and CGM.   But one huge problem I have always had with the infusion site for the pump is that the tape just does not stick to my stomach area.  I have no idea why. My dr has no idea why. And I have yet to meet any other person that has had this problem. (Leave it to me!)   I have limited sites to choose from, because of years of scar tissue – but I usually put my site on my stomach, my hips, and occasionally my thigh (this site doesn’t hurt when putting it in, or when wearing it but for some reason it hurts BAD the first couple of days after I take the site out.)  But at least the tape sticks. :/  I’ve heard of wearing it in my arm .. but I haven’t been brave enough to try that yet — seems like the tubing would be in the way?

I put in a site in my stomach this weekend, and just a few short hours later, it was peeling off all around it.  Looks kinda like a sting ray 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

It was barely hanging on – to the point I was afraid to sleep with it in, thinking any little movement would rip it out.     I am also running too low on my supplies (long story) and haven’t been able to re-order yet, so I didn’t want to waste the site unnecessarily.    But I ended up having to pull it out. Couldn’t take the chance of it pulling itself out.

Then, the next morning I put my CGM back in.  So far I have only worn it in my abdomen.  And just the last two times I’ve had problems with the tape, but usually after a couple of days.  This time, it never stuck. 😦  Or at least the important part – the part that holds the sensor under my skin. See it pulling up around the base?

 

 

 

 

So I’ll be going home for lunch today and taping this bad boy down as best I can.  Want/Need it to last at least the recommended 3 days.

When I first wore the Medtronic pump in ’98, the infusion sites looked differently.  I wish I had a picture of it ..  It attached in a similar way as now (except there was no Quick Insertor – you had to push that sucker in manually) except the quick disconnect was in a different place.  With the current design, you twist the cap and it disconnects directly from your site.   In the olden days (holla) it disconnected 3ish inches from your site (for you non-D’s, you would disconnect for showers, for example) so I could tape down the actual site itself, and still be able to disconnect with no problem.   Nowadays, I can’t do that because if I tape over the site itself, then I cannot ever disconnect.  And well, frankly you have to disconnect every day for a shower.   For my sake, as well as those around me. 😉

I have asked around for suggestions on tape.  I’ve been given some ideas but so far nothing seems to work well for me.   I have taken the IV tape (can’t remember the name of it right now) and cut it into strips, to put around all edges of the site.  Sometimes that works, sometimes it doesn’t.   I have thought about measuring out a circle in that tape, to slide it over the infusion site … but haven’t tried that yet. 

It shouldn’t be this difficult.  If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.  When this happens, I am always tempted to go back to my 5 shots a day and not having anything connected to me.  *sigh* Those were the days.  lol  But those were also the days when I had to get up on Saturday mornings to take my Lantus shot, and eat a breakfast that I may or may not have wanted.  And I have much better control with my pump — I just need to find a workaround for this tape issue. Would love input from other D’s out there. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lost my stick

  1. Stacey D. says:

    When I used the MM pump I never had issues with the sites sticking (sorry!!). However I use the Dexcom CGM and that needs help sticking – so I use a tape called Opsite Flexifix and it works wonders. I bet something like that may be of help to you. I know quite a few others who use it as well. You can order it from amazon or I get mine from Edgepark. Good luck finding a solution!

  2. Scott E says:

    I don’t know if this helps, but I found out recently not to change a site after showering. If the skin is wet (even if it’s towel-dry, there’s still moisture beneath the surface) it doesn’t stick.

    All the guidelines and literature say not to do a set change before bed, because if something goes wrong you won’t notice, but that’s when I change mine.

  3. Kelly S. says:

    I know this is really late, but have you tried the Sure-T sites from MM? They have a two part system that sounds similar to what you described. They have one patch with the cannula, a couple inches of tubing, and then another patch with the connection point. They are designed so that you can play sports in them and if the tubing gets yanked, the patch with the connection point will come off, but the patch with the cannula won’t. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

