Need a jump start

I’ve really been slacking in the blog department lately :/  I haven’t even been reading the ones that I have grown accustomed to reading every day.  There are a couple of them that I do still check in on most every day.   I feel like I’m in a slump lately. 

I need to be re-energized ….  I try to stay connected – blogs, Twitter, Facebook, etc.  But sometimes I’m just going through the motions, and trying to keep up. 

My diabetes management hasn’t slumped, thank goodness.  If anything, it’s better than it’s ever been.  I am more on top of it than ever before, and I don’t plan to stop anytime soon.  Yes, I still have my bad days with it, but overall I’m very much more aware these past couple of months about my numbers.

There is a lot going on in my life that I can’t necessarily blog about right now … but it’s keeping me from being 100% focused on writing every day.  If it weren’t for my husband, kids, friends and family .. I’d have lost my marbles a long time ago. lol

My friend, Suzanne, sent me something this week that made me think. 

“Born Again Diabetic: When a person with diabetes fosters a new-found interest in taking care of their health after years of negligence and denial.”

That made me think about my personal journey for the last 19+ years with this disease.  I truly don’t feel like I’ve been intentionally negligent, or even consciously in denial all of these years.  I think I was diagnosed at a unique point in my life (1 month before my 18th birthday) where I didn’t have an adult to manage me and set me free from the nest.. and at the same time, I was just learning how to be an adult myself, on the verge of going off to college.  I never really had anyone to manage it for me, or for that matter, to teach ME how to properly manage it.   So I’ve always just gotten by.  And like I’ve said before, I am probably very lucky (and VERY thankful) I’ve not had any more problems than I have had so far.

I find it ironic that the acronym for the definition is “B.A.D”.   Guilt plays such a big role in the life of a Type 1.  We feel guilty for not taking better care of ourselves.  For eating this or that.  For letting our numbers get that high/low  (even though we all know a lot of the times – most of the time – it’s out of our control.)  It’s a long list, and everyone has different items that they could add to their personal list.  But that guilt is also sometimes the catalyst to turn things around.   🙂

I’m going to make a better effort to stay connected. I am meeting with my local JDRF chapter in a couple of weeks to talk about Outreach opportunities (I’ve been a volunteer with them for many many years but this would be something new for me) and I’ve been asked to create a Facebook page for Adult T1’s in the area.   Looking forward to both of those things. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Need a jump start

  1. What sort of area do you love in Shannon? I completely identify with all your post, I know exactly how you feel, and I too was diagnosed around 18, and no one else to manage it or teach me!

  2. Mike Hoskins says:

    It happens – falling into that funk of not being able to keep up with everything in the Diabetes Online Community. Beautiful thing about the community is that it’s about our lives first, and the DOC activity second. Glad to hear your D-management hasn’t slacked… I’ve found that when my DOC involvement has decreased my management has, too. Like what you’ve got going on the Adult Type 1 front – looking forward to hearing more about that, as it’s such an important area and not too many chapters are truly embracing it. We are in Indiana and I know of a handful of others, plus national JDRF is focused on the adult outreach, but it’s still pretty scattered based on area.

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks for the post, Mike. Yes, I am kinda surprised actually that my D-management hasn’t slacked … but for now at least I’m still on the right track. 🙂 I am also looking forward to the Adult Type 1 outreach. As you know, I have been T1 for almost 20 years and have never been a part of such a group. I can count on one hand how many others I know in the area… and none that I am very close with. Surely there are others out here that feel the same way!

      PS – Hubby and I were in Indiana last year — I got to tag along while he went for work. We visited Notre Dame – very cool campus!

Leave a Reply

