Shawty went low, low, low …

I have been running lower than usual recently, and the problem with that is I’m not always feeling the hypos like I used to.  I used to be able to start feeling it when I was in the 70s.  Three different times this weekend, I was in the 50s and didn’t feel it. :/  I had taken off my CGM on Friday, thinking I’d give myself a “break” over the weekend, but ended up putting it back on Saturday because of this.

Sunday morning, I was working in my church nursery and noticed my hand was shaking. I felt “fine” but I tested … it was 54.  Oops.  Downed a Quick Stick and then the cart came by with snacks – grabbed a donut.  Was worried about over correcting .. but didn’t.    It happened again in the afternoon.

And last night, I was 81 with 4.5 units of active insulin left.  So I ate 1/2 a pb sandwich – didn’t affect me for a long time.   Finally about 3 hours later, I was 148.  Felt comfortable going to bed with that number.   Starting at 12:15 am, my CGM was giving me the “Low Predicted” alarm.    It is not always 100% accurate — in fact, I’ve only seen it 100% accurate once or twice — Usually it averages about 20% off, which is normal since it’s testing intersticial fluid vs a finger stick.     So I silenced my alarm, assuming I was maybe in the low 80s and it was just picking up on a lowering trend.  So for the next 5 hours, I had a very restless sleep as I continued to silence it. (Sorry ’bout that, D… )

Then around 6:30 am, I finally checked it (which I should have done the first time, but I didn’t) and I was 58. Ugh.  So I sat up in bed, picked up my juice box that I keep on the night stand and watched the local news while sipping my Juicy Juice.

And today at lunch, I started out (Chipotle burrito bowl — 63g of deliciousness carbs) with a BG of 72. And an hourish after eating, I’m low again with 9.6 active units still on board (this means there are still 9.6 units that are waiting to be delivered, basically.)  Wth?

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shawty went low, low, low …

  1. Urge, diabetes. It can be so frustrating. I’m jealous you have CGM, I will be trialling one for a week in May.

    • Shannon says:

      Good luck with your trial 🙂 I was not on board at all with it several years ago – I was adamant that I did NOT want to wear two things 24/7. But I’ve grown very attached to it and rely upon it more than I ever thought I would. Best of luck!!! (And thanks for the read/comment on my blog!)

Leave a Reply

