Day 8 – HAWMC Best Conversation

Image

Best conversation I had this week. That’s today’s prompt. It’s stumped me, if you can believe that.  I write a blog for goodness sake, so of course I have things to write about, right? And I’ve certainly had conversations this week.  A few that are relevant, and even fewer that are sticking out in my head, except for the one I wrote about yesterday (darn it – I wish I’d known today’s prompt and I would have saved it lol)

So the one that sticks out in my head the most is with my 4 year old, A.  To set up the story, we had gone to my cousin’s farm for an Easter egg hunt and family gathering.  The Easter bunny was there to give out baskets to the kiddos.

Me:  You need to get some sleep, buddy, so the Easter Bunny can bring your Easter basket tonight.

A:  Mommy, he’s not real.

Me:  What?  Why would you think that?

A: Because I just know. I’m smart. It’s just a person wearing a costume. (keep in mind … he’s FOUR.)

Me:  Why do you think that?  (That’s what came out of my mouth, but what was going through my brain was “Which kid do I get to have a ‘talkin’ to’ with that spilled the beans??”)

A: Because when he gave me my basket today I looked in his sleeve, and I saw it was a man. He was just wearing a costume. So he’s not real.

Me:  Well, honey, the Easter Bunny can’t visit ALL the kids on the same day, so he has to have helpers. Kind of like Santa’s elves that help him get ready for Christmas.

That seemed to pacify him. But I was honestly stunned. And completely unprepared to have that conversation with a FOUR year old.

I had no idea at the time that I'd gotten a picture of him actually making this discovery.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When did our innocence get lost?  I don’t remember when I started to question those traditions … but I wish I could. Was I crushed?  Was I disappointed? Did I feel like I’d outsmarted my mom?  A was so matter of fact about his relevation.  No mention of “Why was it a man in a costume, Mommy?” No tears.

Since finding the DOC, I have gotten to know some parents of D kids that I did not already know, and some I did know already and have gotten much closer to.  I think about the innocence of those kids.  They also have had to grow up way too soon.  They have to watch what they eat, and most people don’t have to do that till they start packing on extra pounds here and there as they get older.  They have to either take shots numerous times a day, or wear an insulin pump attached to them 24/7 in order to stay alive.  They have to make frequent trips to the nurse’s office at school, with whom their parents are on a first name basis.  I wish those kids were able to have a “normal” childhoold, and enjoy all of the luxuries that non-D kids get to enjoy.  But they can’t.  Hopefully one day they will, but for the foreseeable future they will have to continue growing up too quickly and learning what it means to live with this disease.

I am very thankful for the bonds that I have made because of this disease.  It proves my point that I can use this thing for good vs evil.  😉  My new friend, Christina actually sent me a shout out on Twitter last night that made me feel very humbled. She said she was thankful to be in the same company as me.  What?  Me?!?  This is coming from a woman who is raising 3 children, 2 of which are T1’s. She’s so incredibly strong, and if anyone is thankful, it’s me.  😀

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 8 – HAWMC Best Conversation

  1. Nice cover regarding the bunny helpers. He is 4 and should get lots more years of believing and then if he is smart he will never admit he doesn’t (you don’t believe you don’t recieve is my motto and my kids know it).
    You are too right about the growing up too quickly for cwd. It isn’t fair but I assure you it has made my kids fighters – dreamers and the strongest kids I know. (good vs. evil you were discussing)
    On a note about conversations – faught with Sweetness today about make-up. She wants to wear it, daddy says no, your not old enough. She says I am older than all my friends – I have to be. She wasn’t talking about her age in years.
    As far as the shout out – thank you – you are too kind.

  2. Keiran says:

    It took me a bit of searching, but I finally found a blog post that I saw last year. I think it’s just the best response ever for the “Is Santa real?” question that will invariably come up in the future: The Truth About Santa.

Leave a Reply

