Knowledge is Power

Anyone who has read any of my blog posts so far has quickly figured out that after 19 years as a T1, I am finally trying to understand the “right” way to manage this disease.  Up until recently, it’s been more ignorance than anything else that kept me from doing it (well, maybe with a smidgeon of denial sprinkled in there.)  I have not seen a CDE (Certified Diabetes Educator) in about 15 years.   I have had the same endo for the last 10-ish years.

Every day I am learning new things. Things I wish I had known a long time ago. :/  This week, I finally bought the book “Think Like a Pancreas”.  Apparently it’s the go-to book that every diabetic should read.  I started it last night and had a hard time putting it down. Dr. Scheiner is also Type 1 and was diagnosed just a few years before me – boy, could I relate to some of the things he first went through!!  From his meters to his first pump. Been there, done that.

Speaking of ignorance .. if you want a good laugh at my expense, here ya go.   Those first few weeks after my dx…  I was told/under the impression that if your BG is high, you should exercise and it will bring it down. Easy as that.  (I’ll wait for you to stop shaking your head…….. )

So I would eat something that maybe I shouldn’t have eaten ……   and then I would go run laps outside around the house if my blood sugar was high (we lived in the country, so it was an open field basically.)

Yes, you read that right.  Please continue with the laughing/giggling. I am not offended. Again, ignorant person here.  I shake my own head, all these years later, when I picture myself doing that.

Needless to say, it did not take long to realize how stupid (and inaccurate) that was.  So I stopped.  And nobody ever saw me do it. And until now, I’d never admitted it to anyone.  I suppose I might as well admit it to the world.  lol

There have been so many improvements in the last 19 years since my dx.  I have experienced a lot of them. Smaller drops of blood needed for a finger prick.  Wearing an insulin pump instead of giving myself 5 shots a day.  Wearing a CGM to alert me of highs/lows and show me graphs/trends. Insulin that works immediately instead of 30 min before you eat (which was always a pain when eating out.) More Diet drinks to choose from (for the longest time, I wished they would make a sugar free Kool-Aid, and now that’s the norm vs the sugary stuff.)  And many more.

I wish I’d gotten on the bandwagon a lot sooner than I did .. but as I keep saying, better late than never.

This weekend, my friend and I are going to be driving to Austin to attend the JDRF Type1Now conference. Very excited about this. It will be my first D-conference.  Dr. Scheiner himself is one of the speakers!  And my new D-friend, Kerri Sparling, from www.sixuntilme.com is the keynote speaker.  Looking forward to soaking in as much information as I can.

Knowledge is power.  And I intend to be the most powerful T1 I can possibly be.  For my sake, as well as my family’s.

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

