Report card

I finally had my 3 month checkup this week.  My true test of how “well” I’ve been managing my diabetes for the last 3 months.  My weight was down almost 10 lbs, my blood pressure was pretty good (even though I am not good at all about remembering to take my pills – something else I am working on.) After standing over the A1C meter in my doctor’s office, listening to the loud ticking of the clock in the room… counting down the 2 minutes till the result was displayed, I finally received my true report card. 

Drumroll please …….

My A1C had gone from 7.9 in December to 6.9!   Now, that is a great number. And I am very proud of it. But I had a lot of unintentional hypo’s that led to that number.  There were many nights of waking up in drenching sweats.  Of eating my pb bread and drinking juice before bed.  Lots of glucose tabs. 

Don’t get me wrong, though, I am very happy to be back in the 6s. I can’t even remember, honestly, when I was below a 7.  I just need to now figure out how to stay there, and avoid so many low’s!

My endo made some adjustments to my basals rates and my carb ratios, so we’ll see how well that works. The first day was not so great.  I was fine in the morning, and then spent all afternoon trying to come down from the 250s.   My poor Medtronic CGM was getting a workout, beeping at me all afternoon.  “High Predicted”.     The alarms are great.  They’ve actually caught several high’s and low’s for me, before I knew they were coming. But it’s not fun when I’m in a meeting, or standing at someone’s desk, and constantly get reminded “Hey, lady!  Can you please get your blood sugar under control??”  And it makes for a very long afternoon when it’s all I can do to keep my eyes open.  I feel like I wore out a path from the water cooler back to my desk.  I ended up taking 3 correction boluses, and by bedtime I was back to normal.  Today will be a better day! 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Report card

  1. Scott E says:

    That’s a great improvement, Shannon! You should be proud (and I see you are)

    I wouldn’t give too much credit to those hypos, though. In my experience, they are often offset by the highs that follow, after overtreating those lows with anything and everything. Tweak your CGM alerts (and check them! I was surprised to find my Predicted Low time was set to OFF for weeks, that explained a lot). Also check your Active Insulin time. I recently bumped mine up from 3 to 4 after reading more about it…even though I instinctively think Novolog works faster than that.

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks for the suggestions, Scott! My active insulin is set to 4 (I’ve never changed that – my Medtronic trainer set it to that?) – and I will also take a look at my Predicted Low time . I don’t think I’ve looked at that before, either.

      This weekend I am going to a conference and Dr. Scheiner is going to do a session on Advanced Pumping. I am looking forward to it!!! I know there is so much I still don’t know, about all of my options regarding settings. I’ve never even used the temp basal setting! :/ And just recently started using dual wave bolus.

  2. Keiran says:

    Yay for the lower A1C!!! I’m usually in the lower 6’s… I have to get mine tested again next month. With all the steroid shots and all, I’m sure it’s still going to be out of whack.

  3. Karen says:

    First of all, congratulations on dropping your A1C a full point!! Awesome!! But, I know exactly what you mean about trying to reach a number that fits into your A1C goals without suffering too many lows. That’s exactly the line I cross – I remember the years I thought if I could just reach my goal A1C I wouldn’t have to worry. But now I worry about lows. I feel like we are always trying to balance on a tight-rope.

Leave a Reply

