No, I haven’t been drinking, Ociffer

I had a couple of new discoveries the other night ….     But lemme start at the beginning.

My 4 year old son (A) was not himself that evening – he was coughing and wheezing, so I made the decision to take him to an after hours children’s clinic nearby (Acute Kids — they are awesome!) and have them take a look. I picked him up and got home, gave him dinner, and had planned to eat my dinner after we settled down for the evening.

That didn’t go as planned.  By 7:30 pm we were on the way to the dr.  My CGM told me my BG was fine so I kept an eye on it since I would likely be skipping or severely delaying my dinnertime.

By 10:00 pm, after a dose of steroids and Motrin, and two breathing treatments, we were leaving the dr, heading for the pharmacy to pick up his Rx (dx was “Restricted Airway Disease”).  On the way home from the pharmacy, I felt like I may be dropping a bit, and my CGM said I was 79.  Sometimes I feel “low” when I’m dropping, not necessarily when I’ve already bottomed out.   I had about a 15 minute drive home.

By the time I was about a mile away from my house … I had a realization that I was feeling something similar to that “happy buzz” – you know the kind, when you’ve had a couple of glasses of wine at a cocktail party?  You are not drunk. You are just kind of slower than usual?   Disclaimer: before you get worried about me driving … I was perfectly fine (or felt fine). I have had moments in the past where I have pulled over. And I would not take any chances at all, especially with A in the car with me.  I was almost home.   But I could feel my responses were a tad slower than usual.  When the truck in front of me stopped, I pushed on my break pedal.  But I noticed I was pushing it slowly and later than I may have normally.  It was like my brain was “fine” but my foot was moving slower.  I’d never made that analogy before, but that’s what crossed through my mind – like a “happy buzz” feeling. (Although not very “happy”, but you know what I mean.)

By the time I got home, I checked my BG with my meter.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ruh roh.  That’s a lot different than the 79 that was showing on my pump.  (Another “fly by the seats of your pants” moment — how I felt this way with a 53, and other times when I’ve had a 53, or similar, I am almost out of it. Absolutely no rhyme or reason to this disease sometimes.)

I normally eat 3-4 glucose tabs to bring up a low. They have always worked relatively well for me.  When I went to the JDRF Awards banquet a few months ago, a vendor was passing out something I’d never seen before – “Glucose Quick Sticks”.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They taste like Pixie Sticks.  I had them sitting on the counter, so I thought I’d give it a try.  I ate one packet and felt better almost instantly. What’s strange, though, is there are only 5g of carbs per packet. The glucose tabs are 4 g each, which you can do the math .. if I eat 12-15g of carbs and feel better, now I was only eating 5 g and feeling better. Makes no sense. But whatever. It worked.  I want to find out where to buy these bad boys – so far I only see them online. And they’re not cheap. But they’d be awfully convenient to carry around.  At least it gives me some variety from my usual “go to” glucose tabs. 🙂

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to No, I haven’t been drinking, Ociffer

  1. Cherise says:

    I hope you feel better! Sneaky lows are the worst lows for me. I want glucose sticks! Where can I find them?

  2. Mike Hoskins says:

    Hope it all worked out, and glad you find the sugar-fix to brings the BGs up! Those lows on the road that come out of nowhere are not fun. At all.

  3. Shannon says:

    He’s doing much better, thanks for asking! 😀

    • Keiran says:

      Grrr. Sorry for the duplicate… it went wonky when I was trying to post earlier. Haha. Feel free to decline my other comment. 😉

  4. Keiran says:

    Tsk tsk… haven’t you seen those commercials that warn you buzzed driving is drunk driving? Because although you feel fine, your reactions are slowed and increases odds of accidents. Seriously though, that’s a good analogy, comparing the feel of low blood sugar to a buzz.

    How has A been doing since?

Leave a Reply

