Second verse.. (not the) same as the first

(I apologize for the formatting issues on today’s post — for some reason it is having a mind of its own and will not save my changes!)

Sometimes I can have identical days – as far as my schedule, what I eat, etc.  But my sugars can vary drastically from one day to the next.  The other day I had a particularly stressful afternoon at work. 

For demonstration purposes, this is what a stressful afternoon can look like for a T1 (this is after eating a normal/healthy breakfast and lunch, and also taking correction boluses):

Still climbing ….

Finally got down into the 150’s that evening.  Next day, ate the exact same thing for breakfast. Less stress, and here’s the result –

One thing that always rings true about diabetes .. there is no “rule book” .. you have to sort of live by the seat of your pants and make “game day” decisions as you go.  What am I going to eat?  How many carbs are in that food? How much insulin do I have on board?  Is it Tuesday?  (because it can sometimes seem THAT random lol)

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Second verse.. (not the) same as the first

  1. Abby says:

    Have you ever had post-stress day lows??? Not always, but sometimes, if my day has been super stressful, the next morning I wake up in the 40s… It is SO annoying, but it doesn’t happen every time so I don’t want to do a temp basal because I am not sure it is going to happen and don’t want to wake up high… You are so very right about the “flying by the seat of our pants” thing!

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks for the reply, Abby! And I’ve not paid attention to the day after stress.. but maybe I should! I am just starting to really pay attention to those things (need to start logging).

Leave a Reply

