3 Musketeers … to the rescue!

One day a while back, I was shopping at Target with A. We were going down the aisle, my CGM started beeping with a “Low Predicted” alarm – this just means that the sensor has detected a trend that my sugars are dropping.  I reached in my purse and oops. My little canister of glucose tablets that I always carry with me — was empty. Ruh roh.  Ok, I wasn’t “feeling” the symptoms yet but to be on the safe side, I figured we better start heading out, where I knew I did have a stash of them in the car.

We get to the register to check out, and as I’m reaching from the buggy (that’s what we call them here in the South 😉  ) to the little conveyer belt thingy, out of nowhere, I started sweating PROFUSELY.  I mean the hair plastered on my forehead, sweat dripping into my eyes, kind of sweating.  I felt like a robot and all I could think was I need to fix this and NOW.  So I turned around and grabbed a 3 Musketeers (one of my FAVES – and when you’re that low, it’s like a “free pass”) and ripped that sucker opened and started eating it while I was still loading up the conveyer belt, all the while having the sense to at least not rip the wrapper too much so I could still pay for it.  I am sure I was quite the site.  And I have no doubt that based on the look on her face, the lady in line behind me was thinking “How rude – couldn’t she have at least waited to get out of line before she started eating her candy bar??”

I made it out to the car (where I waited for about 10-15 minutes before attempting to drive home) and still ate 3 glucose tablets when I got there – you are “supposed” to eat 15 g of carbs and wait 15 minutes for it to come back up … but in all reality when you’re in that moment – all you can think about is eating/drinking whatever you can find to get the number back up quickly. But there is a fine line of eating something to get your sugar up, and not eating so much that you feel bad later – either guilt (“I didn’t need to eat ALL of those cookies”) or literally feeling bad/sick from eating too much when your sugars over compensate and shoot up.  It’s almost as if you get into a panic mode for a few minutes – Must.eat.whatever.I.can.RIGHT.NOW.  

So if you’re ever in line at a store, and you see a sweaty person, ripping into a candy bar like he/she hasn’t eaten in days ….. don’t judge. 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

