Can’t we all just get along?

Last night I finally got my CGM hooked back up.  But for some reason it is not calibrating correctly — this morning it told me I was 45 … but my meter said 130.  BIG difference.  It beeped at me all night saying “Low Predicted”. And at 3 am – BEEEEEEEEEP is all I heard, until I realized it wasn’t my alarm clock – it was my CGM wanting to be calibrated (need to plan the time better …. )  So I get up, half asleep and walk out to the living room to test (forgot to bring my meter to my bedroom last night.) Go back to bed.. then a couple of hours later I hear another BEEP but this time it IS my alarm clock.   (I feel like I’m in the movie, “Groundhog Day” sometimes! lol)

I’m curious – if any other CGM wearers are reading this — do you have trouble injecting it?  I have been giving myself shots for almost 20 years. But for some reason I struggle with giving myself this particular one every.single.time. I will stand there, trying to convince myself to push that button for several minutes.  When I’m changing my pump site, I have a brief second of “Ok I can do this” but it’s a few minutes at least before I win the argument with the CGM injector.

I can remember when I first went on the pump in ’98.. they didn’t have injectors yet and you had to manually insert the needle/cannula.  I vividly remember standing in the bathroom one time in particular, crying. And mad. For over an HOUR. And arguing with my hand to “Just do it already!” My brain was saying “It’s ok, you got this.”  But my hand would say, “Nuh uh! You’re crazy. This hurts.”   I guess my brain and hand still don’t always get along after all these years ….

For those of you not familiar with how a CGM works … below are some pictures.

These are the supplies needed for the CGM - the Injector, sensor, transmittor, and charger (for the transmittor)

And if you’re wondering what the benefits of the CGM are (right after you thought “Why would you wear that if you don’t have to??) there actually are many benefits.  First, it checks my blood sugar 288 times a day. So when it’s calibrating correctly :/  I can look down at any point in the day and see what my blood sugar is. It will give me an alarm if I’m trending too high or too low, so you can treat them before it goes too far. It will also allow me to download reports/graphs, to show my doctor so we can work together in making any necessary adjustments to my basal rates.  So yes, it can be a pain (literally) to wear it .. but in my opinion, at least, the benefits outweight the negative.