I’ve lost my sensor and I can’t get up (this morning)

Yesterday was a very long day — not only was it Daylight Savings Time, so we “lost” an hour… but I was up until 1 am on the phone with Medtronic’s 24/7 help line.  (That is something I do love about them – their customer service rocks.)  I decided to put my CGM (continuous glucose monitor) back on around 10 pm – later than I would usually do it but it was a busy weekend.  When I first put on the sensor (the part that is inserted under my skin), I wait 20 minutes, and then attach the transmittor (looks like a flat mushroom – it’s the part that transmits the data to my pump.) Then once the transmittor is attached, I wait 2 hours and it’ll beep at me, prompting me to calibrate my blood sugars – I have to test with my meter, then put that number into my pump, and it gives it a starting point.  From there, the CGM will read my blood sugars 24/7 and I can look down at any point and see not only what my sugar is, but a graph of the trends. I have to calibrate it 2-3 times a day (you can do it any time of the day, but it’s best to do it before meals, because it needs to be a steady number – not on its way up or down.)

So I put in the sensor and wait the 2 hours. It beeps at me, so I get up, assuming I need to calibrate. I look at the pump to turn off the alarm and it says “Lost Sensor”.  What? It’s right there – can’t you see it?   Ugh.  So there is an option to “Find Lost Sensor” so I did that (takes 15 minutes to “find” it.)  Three times.  Finally, around 12:30 am I called the helpline.  After doing all kinds of tests (thank goodness the transmittor itself was still functioning properly – those bad boys are not cheap!) we came to the conclusion that it was either not a good sensor, or it was not in a good place under my skin. :/  The nice Medtronic man that was helping me said I needed to take out the sensor and either put another one back in or wait till the morning – uh, I think I’ll wait for the morning, thanks.  Don’t want to have to wait another 2 hours to calibrate!  🙂  He agreed.   Then I left the house without my goody bag of supplies so it’ll have to wait till tonight.  Fingers crossed it’s in a good spot this time.   I see my Endo again in 2 weeks and he’ll want to see 2 weeks of numbers so he’ll know if we need to make any adjustments or not to my basals.

Happy Monday!

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

