On the road again … (you know you have that song in your head now)

This was a crazy busy weekend for us … We started out our Saturday driving 2 hours to attend a funeral, then another 2 hours to go to our niece’s wedding, and then another hour drive home. Logged about 300 miles. 🙂 But all in all it was a great day. Nice visits with family, at both ends of the day. However, my sugars were “off” all day – schedule was out of whack. I made a good breakfast – chocolate chip pancakes and eggs.. yummy! But then we skipped lunch (not optimal for T1’s to skip meals, but it is doable, when wearing a pump – you have a lot more flexibility.) I packed snacks to keep A tied over, to avoid the inevitable “I’m huuuuuuuuuungry” chant on our road trip, but we didn’t stop to eat until after the funeral, around 3 pm. Then we ate at the reception around 6:30 (not very hungry but it looked too good to pass up – Mexican food is one of my “weaknesses”)… and you can’t go to a wedding without having a taste of wedding cake. And those darn chocolate covered strawberries get me every time- just can’t turn ’em down when they’re calling my name. My sugars stayed around the 200-250’s. And today I’m feeling it – have a crazy headache :/ and just plain worn out (part of that is due to the annoying time change that happened today, too.)

I have gone through more insulin in the last 48 hours than I have in quite a while. I do something every so often that is not recommended by pump manufacturers…. (that’s my disclaimer) … On the times that I use/need more than the max 300 units of insulin that fits in my pump’s reservoir, I have figured out a way to refill the reservoir without removing my site and making a new hole in my body. I can then stretch out the site another day or two. Well, I had to add insulin to my reservoir yesterday morning. (Granted, I only add about 100 or so units, not another 300.) And I am already due for more this afternoon. My pump’s “Low Reservoir” alarm started beeping at me at church this morning. Since my site is a little sore, I am going to go ahead and change it out rather than keep adding to it. I probably should put my CGM back on, too. :/

I promise to have a more interesting post tomorrow … 🙂  FYI, below is what my pump looks like with an empty reservoir.  The syringe-looking symbol on the screen, shows me how much insulin is in there … and the circle next to it is a “warning” that an alarm has gone off.

20120311-143349.jpg

 

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

