DWT (Driving While …. Testing?)

Disclaimer: I do not recommend this to most folks .. but on more than one occassion since I have been of legal driving age … I have tested my blood sugars while operating a motor vehicle (shhhh).  I am always keeping at least one eye on the road, but I have become proficient in driving with my knee when needed.  Sometimes it has been because I am eating my breakfast on the way to work, or because my blood sugar is low and I need to test, so I can correct it.  As I was doing it this morning (to eat on my way to work) .. I thought, “Hmm. I wonder what a cop would say if he pulled me over for ‘swerving’ (although I wasn’t – but I’m sure it can/does happen) and saw that I was not drinking, or texting, nor doing anything illegal.” All I was doing was testing my blood sugar.  Now granted, once I prick my finger, I then have to get that finger up next to the test strip that I have already placed into my meter (which I am either holding in my hand that is on the steering wheel, or it is in my lap), and aim correctly to get that drop of blood onto that tiny strip.  I have missed the mark before, and then I get frustrated because it took a lot to get that one drop – now I’m going to have to either squeeze the dickens outta my finger to get more out of that tiny hole, or I have to give in and prick another finger and start over.   Once I get the blood on the strip, I lay the meter in my lap until that beep comes a few seconds later, then glance back at the meter to see what my magical number is.   THEN assuming I am testing to cover some food, I then have to unclip my insulin pump from my pants/belt and punch in all of these numbers- blood sugar, carbs – yes, I do want my 2 hour check; yes, I do confirm that I want to take xx units …  thank you, buh-bye.  I am the Queen of Multitasking. (Ok, maybe not the Queen.. but at least a Princess. Surely there are people more proficient than me, that deserve the title of Queen.)

Hmmm. The more I think about it, maybe I should start pulling over or waiting for a red light.  (I have one friend in particular that probably has her jaw on the ground reading this, shaking her head — you know who you are! 🙂  )

In the meantime, if you are a police officer, please take it easy on us T1s. 😉

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DWT (Driving While …. Testing?)

  1. Mom says:

    Yep, that 5 minutes it took to pull over while you are testing may have saved you lots of $$, much less your life/injuries or those of innocent other people. Just saying…

  2. Mike Hoskins says:

    I’ve tested while driving, usually waiting until I’m at a light or stop of some sort. Or when there’s not anyone around me and the lanes aren’t curving… since I have good alignment. Yes, you can pull over just to be safe. But it’s not like we’re talking dangerous behavior here. As long as we’re still be safe while testing on the road, I don’t see the problem – it’s really no different from eying the radio or grabbing a soft drink sip, in my opinion.

  3. Scott E says:

    I’ve tested my blood sugar while driving 65 mph on the New Jersey Turnpike, and while stuck in bumper-to-bumper traffic on the Cross-Bronx Expressway. My wife, in the passenger seat, often yells at me and says that I’m going to get pulled over for it one day. (I do less of it now, though, since I’ve got a CGM).

    I’ve also had my pump start beeping at me while driving, which (depending on where I’m wearing it) requires me to remove my seatbelt to get to it and find out why, and to shut it up.

    Yeah, I suppose it’s not safe, but it’s — in my mind — sort of necessary. I know that I’m wrong, and that Shannon’s mom is right, but it’s one of those habits that’s hard to break — even harder than the food-related sort of habit.

Leave a Reply

