ICE

Last night was an example of those “crap shoot” blood sugar readings.  I checked it around 4:00, while still at work, and it was 113.  Perfectamundo. I hadn’t yet eaten my apple I’d brought for an afternoon snack, so I bolused for the 12 g of carbs (apples vary, based on size. Most are 14g but this one was pretty small, so I only counted for 12 g) and I enjoyed every bite of my tasty afternoon treat.  I picked up A from school, got home and around 6:00 I was standing in the pantry, staring at the shelves, not sure what I was going to cook for dinner. I had a plan on my way home, but for the life of me, by now I couldn’t remember what it was.  I closed the pantry, went to the fridge. Back and forth. Still no clue what I was planning to cook.  By now I realized that “Hey, I’m having trouble concentrating, I better eat something.”  So I ate a banana. Gave it a minute …  still felt “off” so I grabbed a couple of glucose tabs.  Oh and a couple of Samoas that were in the box on the counter (gotta love Girl Scout cookie season) 😉    In the midst of all of that, I asked A if he wanted to watch some tv while Mommy cooked dinner (duh) and not that I’m a proponant of tv babysitting, on occasions such as this, it is handy that Team Umi Zoomi was on standby to entertain my son (in the attached living room, where I could see him, I might add) while I attempted to clear the fog. 

After all of that, I finally checked my blood sugar – and yes, I know I should have tested before eating anything… but sometimes it gets to a point where even though I don’t know what the number is, I know I need to fix it.  Now. So in my foggy, hypoglycemic state, I made that executive decision.  By the time I checked it, this is what I saw –

So no, I don’t know how low it actually dropped.  But at that point, it didn’t matter.  I just needed to get it up quickly.  A few minutes later, I was back to my old self and ready to start cooking dinner (which ended up being a yummy taco dinner, made with ground turkey and black beans).   

A few weeks ago, I showed A how to call my husband and my mom on my trusty iPhone.  (ICE – “In Case of Emergency”) At only 4 years old, he is already a pro at swiping that bar at the bottom of the screen, so I thought if the numbers were saved in Favorites, he should get it – he’s smarter than the average bear. 😉   He and I are home quite a bit while D travels periodically, so worst case scenario …. I thought it’d be helpful for A to know how to get help for Mommy, if/when I ever needed it.  Not something that I want to think about .. but I’d rather be prepared.  I explained to him to tell Daddy/Nonny (what he calls my mom) that “Mommy’s sick” and something regarding diabetes. Not sure he got that part… should probably work on that.  But he DID master the dialing the phone part.  I had him test it.  And I explained to both of them that if A ever calls, and they do not hear me on the phone as well… they should probably check things out.  He also apparently learned at school recently how to call 9-1-1 but I’m not ready to show him that part on my phone … don’t want to pique his curiosity to try that one out. They don’t take too kindly to “test” calls, I’m sure. 😉

 

 

 

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since '92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 17 years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ICE

  1. Nancy luttrell says:

    Shannon, I love your blog! And although I’m not diabetic, Ayme is, so I’ve made sure she knows about this. She’ll be tuning in on a regular basis. Thank you so much for making this awful disease a little less stressful for my daughter and so many others! You are truly a blessing!

  2. Lori says:

    Shannon, I am really enjoying reading your blog. Well, I’m not enjoying all the suffering you are going through, but I’ve been reading it and you are really doing a good job telling your story. Thank you for doing this.

Leave a Reply

