CGM Reliance

It’s funny how things can change in a relatively short amount of time. I’ve had an Rx for my CGM supplies since I was pregnant with the twins (they were born last April). However, I only wore it sporadically. Frankly, at the time, I barely had enough real estate to insert my pump’s infusion site, much less my CGM site. So I’d put it on for a few days here and there, just to check for patterns, then off it went again for awhile.

Until recently. In January I started wearing it again. Mainly because I was having a lot of low’s after changing my diet pretty significantly. And the CGM alarm would help me cut the wonkiness off at the pass most of the time.

I especially relied on it at night. Even if I personally slept through a lot of the alarms, my hubby (and my friend, who shared a hotel with me on a recent trip) would wake me to let me know that my pump would not shut up. lol

Or today, when I took a short nap (hey, don’t judge, the rule is to sleep when the babies sleep, right? That rule doesn’t expire, does it???) and I felt very sluggish when I woke up – only to find that my meter said I was 42. Had I been wearing my CGM, it would’ve likely woken me up before it had gotten so low.

Now on days I am not wearing it, I find myself looking at the screen to see what my BG is. Out of habit. And I only go a couple of days here and there without it, where as before I was only wearing it a couple of days in between sometimes months of NOT wearing it.

We are so very fortunate to have the technology available to us these days. I can say even 21+ years ago when I was dx’d, technology was no where near what it is today. And for that, I am very grateful. Now if you’ll excuse me, I am going to go put my CGM back on. :)

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since 10/17/92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 15ish years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to CGM Reliance

  1. Sara says:

    Gosh! Now I think *I* have the CGM reliance. I think I have worn it 24/7/365 since I got it in 2010. It’s an addiction!

Leave a Reply

