Grossed out?

There was a lot of buzz last week about the Miss Manners article. I’m not actually going to state my opinions on it … other than to say that when I was still taking manual shots, in the early days (20ish yrs ago) I would get up and go to the bathroom to take my shot. But that was when I was taking Regular insulin and had to take it 30 min before eating (which was always fun when at a restaurant and had no idea how long it would take to get the food.. but I digress.) When it got to a point where it was a 5 minute window from injection to eating, I started taking it at the table once the food was there. I always tried to be discreet, even when checking my blood sugar. But that’s just my two cents.

The other night, in the midst of all the Miss Manners buzz, I had the rare occassion of being able to take my now 6 yr old son to dinner – just me and him (I also have twin 10 mos old sons, so I don’t get out much with just my 6 yr old.) He’s been around my diabetes his whole life and asks questions, makes statements, and it’s just what it is with him.

This particular night he asked a question he’s not asked before. We were sitting at the table, and I pulled out my meter to check my blood sugar. I did what I always do and squeezed the drop of blood, put the blood on the test strip, then licked my finger. Yes, that may gross some of you out – but some of you know that you do the same thing. ;)

He watched me with his little inquisitive eyes and then said, “Was that red stuff blood?”

I answered, “Yes, it was.”

To which he replied, “Aren’t you worried someone might see your blood and get grossed out?”

Hmmm. I found the timing of that question incredibly interesting.

So I took the opportunity to ask him if he was grossed out by it – he said no. I said, “I am not able to eat my food without checking my blood sugar. And in order to check my blood sugar, I have to use a drop of my blood. I suppose someone could be grossed out by it, but I try to be quick with it, just in case.”

I’m someone who is always uber aware of my surroundings and if someone is staring at me dealing with my diabetes (which does happen sometimes) I try to be even more discreet. Other times I have no problem pulling out my meter and checking my bg, and putting it back away. Sometimes it actually starts conversations with people. I’m not ashamed of my diabetes. I didn’t ask to have this disease. I have to do certain things, such as checking my blood sugar, numerous times a day in order to live. It is what it is and those of us who live with it do what we have to do 24/7. :)

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since 10/17/92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 15ish years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grossed out?

  1. StephenS says:

    Shannon, what you’re saying here is sensible, correct, and terrific. It would be nice if everyone, on both sides of this story, could read your post. Thanks

Leave a Reply

