Wordless Wednesday: Golden Sneakers

I take a lot of pride in my growing JDRF awards. :)

20140129-115043.jpg

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since 10/17/92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 15ish years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Wordless Wednesday: Golden Sneakers

  1. Karen says:

    Wow, that’s impressive!!

  2. Sara says:

    WOW!
    I JUST got my first one. I’ll never catch up!!

    • Shannon says:

      Lol I’ve walked every year since ’93 (except for in ’98 when I was in ICU in DKA- valid reason to miss it, right? lol) but way back then they didn’t give awards. ;) Not all of these are Golden Sneakers – a few are “Exceptional Volunteer” or “Best t-shirt”. I’m
      Very proud of my collection!!

  3. Brandon says:

    What did you do to achieve all those? I’ve had diabetes for about ten years but have not been connected to any blogs or websites, ect. Feeling like I need to start participating in some of these events!

    • Shannon says:

      When you raise more than 1k for the Walk to Cure Diabetes, you are eligible for a Golden Sneaker award. Which is what most of mine are. Some see for “Exceptional Volunteer” and winning t-shirt contests, all associated with the walk. You should look up your local JDRF chapter and get involved! It’s usually tons of fun .. Let me know if you have questions!

Leave a Reply

