So much to learn

I’ve been trying to be healthier overall lately… Just eating less and making better choices. Diets don’t work for me- never have. I’m not a huge fan of veggies (but working on that) so it’s been a gradual change for me.

One thing I’ve changed is eating earlier/better for dinner. The other night I made this for dinner:

20140123-102356.jpg

It was super yummy. Contents: spinach, kale, romain, shredded chicken, corn, homemade guacamole, and salsa. I had to swag the carbs based on the corn and avocado so I went with 20, thinking it might be a little higher but playing it safe.

About 40 min later, my cgm starts beeping and I’m 48 with arrows down. Ruh roh. I suspended my pump and downed two juice boxes.

I texted my friend (who has a T1 daughter) and she said that high fiber meals digest slower…so basically my insulin hit my system before the food did (which became evident when I later shot up to 200 *sigh*).

My friends will say “did you square bolus for this” or “dual wave for that”? The answer is usually no. Because frankly I don’t know enough about how foods break down. *hangs head in shame*

I’ve been diabetic for over 21 years. And there are still SO many things that I don’t know…but should. I was dx’d one month before my 18th bday – too old for my mom to manage it for me but too young to know how to properly manage it on my own.

As frustrated as I get when avoidable things like this happen to me, I’m constantly reminded by how incredibly fortunate I am to be surrounded by friends that DO know so much more and are always there for me when I need them. :)

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since 10/17/92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 15ish years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to So much to learn

  1. StephenS says:

    Right there with you. I think if we knew everything about living with diabetes, the information would fill up our heads and spill out our ears. And that wouldn’t be pretty. Good thing you’ve got such great resources to go to with questions!

  2. Sara says:

    The “problem” with the dual wave/combo bolus is that there is always more to learn. There is going to be a percentage and timing for pizza and a different one for pasta and a different one for fast food. Then the ones that work for me are not going to work for someone else. It’s all stupid diabetes trial and error. I love my combo bolus (same as dual wave on Medtronic) but it is still a pain to figure out!

Leave a Reply

