Wordless Wednesday

So I thought of this idea late last year but decided to wait till January 1st to start doing it – I’m going to collect all my test strips for 2014. Sounds weird, you say? Here’s why I’m doing it… I can tell someone “Oh I check my blood sugar 5-8 times every day.” But actually SEEING the strips … puts it into perspective and just HOW many times that means I’ve poked my fingers. Even when I counted what I have in here just so far (only 15 days – and today is not even half over!) kinda suprised even me. (93 so far and it’s only Jan 15th).

Should be interesting to see how full this bowl gets by the end of the year …. that’s a lot of holes in my fingers.

Test strips - Jan 15

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since 10/17/92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 15ish years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wordless Wednesday

  1. Scott E says:

    This is really creative and will make a great visual! I’m curious to see how it looks by December 31, and what (if any) emotions it might bring about.

  2. Pingback: The Friday Six: Eyeballs, You Balls, We All Balls for Eyeballs! - Six Until Me - diabetes blog

  3. Sara says:

    I tried to do this from one Diabetes Art Day to the next but I couldn’t hang. I am excited to see if/when you make it!

  4. Karen says:

    Love this idea!! I bet you fill the bowl and then some.

  5. How cool is that? Yes, I think you are going to need a bigger bowl! But I love the idea,it’s a powerful visual of our day to day life. On the plus side maybe there won’t be so many loose strips around the house? I don’t know about you but my tubberware, socks and blood glucose strips all seem to have a mind of their own! Always missing and yet everywhere!

Leave a Reply

