Timing is everything

Oops.

I checked my BG at 12:50pm (151), then got busy with life – getting babies fed, making lunch for everyone else…

Then by the time I got around to eating my lunch, it was 1:45. But I didn’t realize it had been an HOUR, so I bolused for my leftover thin crust pizza, based on the 151 BG.

Oops.

About 15 min later, I started seeing spots…

I think, “Oh there’s no way I’m low, I just ate PIZZA for goodness sake” (even though it was thin crust, and that only has 20ish carbs per slice – which turns out to not be a good thing for me in this particular scenario.)

But a few min later.. still seeing spots and having a hard time concentrating. Or putting thoughts/sentences together.

So I check my BG…. 52.

Oops.

Apparently I was on my way down when I had the 151, and then when I bolused I was much lower than 151 at the time. But again, I had no idea that an hour had gone by … *sigh*

I’m still waiting to come up. That all happened a few minutes ago. And I have 16 units of active insulin on board. Looks like a suspended pump is in my near future. ;)

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since 10/17/92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 15ish years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Timing is everything

  1. thecellobard says:

    Oops. Glad you caught the low. I hate when I bolus and then get busy and forget to eat. I did that last night it was… not pretty.

Leave a Reply

