Need a do over

I need a do over for yesterday .. and apparently today as well.

I woke up with a high blood sugar yesterday morning .. my first thought was it was dinner from the night before (didn’t eat anything “bad” but there was a chance I suppose that I didn’t guess the carbs right and something hit me later than I thought it would? Who knows.) So I bolused and it included my carbs for breakfast (eggs and toast) and a correction for the high.

Two hour check… still high.

So at this point I change my site.

Lunch time … still high. No ketones.

Correct and bolus. Part of the problem with so many corrections is that the insulin can stack up in the fatty tissue and then hit later all at once, risking a severe low blood sugar. So there’s a fine line to walk there.

By this point, I had gone all day not going below 250. And for those that have never experienced a high blood sugar, especially for long periods of time, it makes you very tired and sluggish. Very thirsty and lots of trips to the bathroom from all the water you’ve been drinking. Difficult to concentrate, all you want to do is sleep. But being home with two 6 month olds, life goes on – without naps for mommy. ;)

By dinner, I’d finally gotten down to 140. Sweet. Figured I was finally on the right track.

Then at my bedtime check, I was back in the 250s. What the what?? So I correct and go to bed. Set an alarm for the middle of the night – slept through it.

Problem is, I also slept through my 6am alarm – you know, the IMPORTANT one .. the one I needed in order to get my kindergartener up and ready for school. My husband called at 7:15 because he thought it was strange that he hadn’t heard from me yet – and the phone woke up me up. Oops. 7:15 is the last possible time we can leave the house and not have him tardy to school. Needless to say he was tardy. But I jumped out of bed, put on some clothes and a baseball hat (cause that’s how I roll in a hurry), and check my blood sugar before doing anything else.

317. What?? Ok enough is enough, diabetes. Back OFF.

I correct (again) and get my son up. Start him on breakfast, lay out his clothes, get his teeth brushed and standing by the door. Then I wake up the twins (who on a NORMAL day have already woken up on their own by this time.. but of course this is the day they’d have slept in!) and get them strapped into their car seats and off we go … Had to walk him into school since it was after 7:45 – and of course I didn’t have the stroller with me, so I had to carry both car seats in with me. At least the office assistant felt sorry for me and held doors open. ;)

Can I please have a do over? Oh and a normal blood sugar? That’d be great. In the meantime … diabetes, you get the win for yesterday. But not going to let you have two days in a row. Next thing on my agenda is another site change.

I know there are things I could’ve done differently yesterday – my next step was a syringe injection but when I saw the 140, I thought all was well with the world again. But apparently it wasn’t. It’s such a guessing game. And a second guessing game – so many factors. And no way to know where days like this even come from…. Who knows if I’m fighting off an infection that I don’t know about? Or just have another bad site? Bad insulin? I won’t know what causes it, but I’ll hopefully figure out how to FIX it at least. ;)

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since 10/17/92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 15ish years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Need a do over

  1. Patti B says:

    Thanks for this post Shannon! This has happened to me too and I am asking why, why?? What did I do wrong? Why can’t I get it down? Then, I have to realize that diabetes has a mind of its own and does whatever it wants to, no matter how I try to control it! Feels good to know that I am not the only one this happens to!

    • Shannon says:

      Thanks, Patti! What I try to always remind myself (it doesn’t always work, though!) is not to second guess TOO much …. it is what it is and I can’t go back and UNdo it, ya know? Trudge forward and get past it – tomorrow is a new day! :)

  2. Pancreastic Mom says:

    This was my sweet girl’s day yesterday as well…gave up and picked her up from school (we had battled some the day before as well, but, like you, she’d had a morning bg of 154 so I thought she was good to go)…anyway, brought her home and changed out the insulin cartridge (had just changed the site that morning bcs it looked a bit bloody and I didn’t want a site to cause a problem) and…hooray! Fresh vial of insulin fixed the highs. That was a first for us.

    • Shannon says:

      Glad it worked out!! Sometimes you can do everything “right” but diabetes still has a mind of it’s own and decides whether or not to even back out … frustrating!! But again, glad your daughter leveled out!! :)

  3. StephenS says:

    Had a day like this last week… I feel your pain.

  4. a1conceive says:

    Sometimes Diabetes is just a jerk for the sake of being a jerk. Hope today is better for you!
    (PS – I haven’t forgotten to send you that package, just crazy busy at work and can’t sneak away during the day!, I’ll send it ASAP!)

  5. Kelley says:

    Ugh, I hate days like that! Especially when you think you are finally coming down only to be disappointed. Hope you’re doing better now!

  6. Scott E says:

    Yes, you can have a do-over. In fact, every day is a do-over. Look at tomorrow as a way to do better than today, not as a day to wallow in the misery of the day before.

  7. Carlyn says:

    Oh man, tomorrow is a new day. Sounds like you need a nap :)

Leave a Reply

