‘Betes Makes the Toons

20131010-083937.jpg
The other night my 5 yr old was watching Netflix on my iPad (he’d had a good day – don’t judge lol) and he got so excited.. he said, “Mommy, Callilou has a friend named Emma and she has diabetes! She has the number one kind, and wears an insulin pump – just like you!” (lol at the “number one kind”) I told him I thought that was really cool, and even MORE cool that he made the connection. I told him that I also have “the number one kind” but that it’s called Type One. ;) He was very excited when he found out that Emma and I have the same kind of diabetes. (It’s the little things sometimes) He started describing Emma’s insulin pump to me – said it was a yellow box, with a screen on it, and that’s how she gets her insulin.

I haven’t looked for this yet online, but you can bet I will … I think that’s really cool that they inserted a real life story into a children’s show like that. Sure, we see adult Type 1′s pop into shows occasionally and it always gets our attention (those of us living with diabetes, that is) but I’m pretty darn proud that my son paid enough attention to catch the diabetes references in the show. Proud mommy moment. :)

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since 10/17/92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 15ish years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ‘Betes Makes the Toons

  1. Scott E says:

    This is cool! Was the diabetes integral to the storyline or was it just…there? (I’m not quite sure which answer I’m hoping to hear)

    • Shannon says:

      I finally watched the episode on Netflix and am trying to find the link on YouTube to include it…

      It was a pretty integral part of the story line. It started with the teacher telling Emma she needed to eat her snack (but it bothered me that she ate it without checking her BG first lol) and then Callilou was jealous and confused on why SHE got a snack. And the teacher tried to explain it. Then Callilou got very protective of Emma and kept saying she was sick…. But I was pleased with how at the end Emma explained she’s not “sick”.

      Obviously there were some holes but overall I thought they did a great job. :)

      • Scott E says:

        Oh, what a familiar story. Back in 1981 (and a year or two following), I would go to the school nurse’s office every morning for my scheduled 10 o’clock snack. There were no BG checks either (though I returned to her office later in the day, a few minutes before lunch, for a urine BG test). The other kids were jealous that I got a special snack break. I hated it (and the snacks were far from special. I can still remember trying to fill my mouth with those dry peanut-butter covered rice cakes. Yuck). Eventually, I pleaded with my doctor to eliminate the 10 o’clock snack, which he did (though I’m not quite sure how).

        By the way, the point of the snack, as well as of the 8pm “bedtime snack” was to ward off potential lows due to the NPH which was about to peak. So would I call the story accurate? Yes. Primitive, but accurate.

  2. Kelley says:

    This is awesome!

  3. Pingback: October Best ‘Betes Blog Awards | ProbablyRachel

Leave a Reply

