Pregnancy Tips

Last weekend I was able to spend some quality time with some awesome DOC’ers and in addition to the tons of great info I received from the different speakers at the CWD Tech conference in DC, I picked up some fantastic tips from my friend, Kerri, specifically related to pregnancy and diabetes.

Being that this is my second pregnancy … one might think that I would be somewhat more knowledgeable than I already am. But I am no where near an expert on anything diabetes-related. I’m learning more every day, but even after 20 years, I’m still not an expert (nor will I ever be- it’s a moving target!)

A few tips I received from Kerri -

The placenta gives off an insulin-resistance hormone. Huh. Did not know that.. and seeing as how I now have TWO placentas in there, it’s no wonder I’m at a 1:3 carb ratio (yes, you read that right.) All diabetics will vary on what their ratios are, but it basically equates into how much insulin is taken per unit of carb. So mine means that I’m taking one unit of insulin for every 3 carbs I eat — for kicks, you should check out carb counts on the foods you eat. I bet some of you would be shocked at how many carbs are in certain foods/drinks. Some people might be at a 1:10 or I’ve met some who are at 1:25. So as you can see, mine is pretty stinking high. It will drop after I have the twins, but in the meantime, it may even continue to increase seeing as how I’m just now starting to enter my 3rd trimester.

Kerri’s Endo had strongly urged her to change her infusion site every 2 days, to help with absorption. I typically wear my site for 4-7 days, depending on where it is and how good my numbers are looking. And since she shared her Endo’s advice with me, I’ve been paying closer attention and have definitely noticed that once I hit the 3 day mark, my numbers DO start to creep up. Crazy, huh?

I’ve written about my lack of real estate before, but it’s getting to be a bigger problem, the further along my pregnancy progresses (read: the bigger I get.) I can no longer use my stomach area. My hips used to be a standard “go to” but they do not absorb worth a darn anymore (scar tissue is a huge problem there.) So Kerri suggested my back or arms. Monday night, I put a site in my back for the first time. It actually wasn’t that bad. It’s in my lower back, above the waist line of my pants. So now I’m on day 3 and whaddayaknow… going back to the last point, my numbers haven’t gone below 150 all day today. So I’ll be changing the site out tonight for sure.

Continuing with her site suggestions, she’d told me she uses her arms frequently. I’ve never done that one…. I’ve always heard about it, but frankly I didn’t want to have to mess with the tubing – having to feed it down my shirt, etc. But seeing as how it is new, uncharted real estate (other than when I was on MDI’s, I’d use my upper arm a lot) I may very well have to try it out. I was talking with Kerri, Kim, and Courtney about it yesterday on Twitter, and if they can all do it … then I know I can, too. :) I’ll keep you posted on when/if I try it, and how it goes.

And then I reached out to another local DOC friend a couple of days later, Melissa, to ask her which Endo she sees, because she has a young toddler at home, and if you’ve kept up with my blog lately, you know I need to switch doctors. She gave me the contact info for hers, and she even said *gasp* that the doctor came to the hospital after she’d had her baby. (What a concept!) And she gave several reasons why she loves her so much. The only positives I can say about mine is he’s a nice man, and I love his office staff. And the biggest reason I’ve stayed is for convenience. That reason isn’t good enough any longer.

I’m so thankful to know these women who have gone through pregnancy and can offer these pointers. I feel like I learn something new every day. And hopefully what I share on my blog can help someone else out (pregnancy or non-pregnancy related) as well. :) That is the ultimate goal of my blog, anyway. :)

And here’s a visual of why I’m quickly running out of real estate ;) (And I still have 9-11 weeks to go!!)
26w4d

About Shannon

I am a wife, a mommy, and a Type 1 diabetic (since 10/17/92.) I have had two successful pregnancies - one of which was with twins. I wear an insulin pump- - off and on for 15ish years; currently on the Medtronic pump and CGM. I am not a medical professional, nor am I giving medical advice. I am just sharing my day to day stories of someone who lives with this disease every day. My ultimate goal is to raise awareness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pregnancy Tips

  1. Sorry that I coudn’t offer any pregnancy tips. ;-)

Leave a Reply

